Warning: Declaration of TarskiCommentWalker::start_lvl(&$output, $depth, $args) should be compatible with Walker_Comment::start_lvl(&$output, $depth = 0, $args = Array) in /homepages/6/d309080372/htdocs/amf/wp-content/themes/tarski/library/classes/comment_walker.php on line 109

Warning: Declaration of TarskiCommentWalker::start_el(&$output, $comment, $depth, $args) should be compatible with Walker_Comment::start_el(&$output, $comment, $depth = 0, $args = Array, $id = 0) in /homepages/6/d309080372/htdocs/amf/wp-content/themes/tarski/library/classes/comment_walker.php on line 109
for all my friends · April 2012

April 2012

You are currently browsing the monthly archive for April 2012.


So clean!

Originally on Pedalare!Pedalare!

Tags: , ,


Last year, I won four straight races (Brabantse Pijl, Amstel Gold Race, Flèche Wallonne, Liège-Bastogne-Liège). This time none. This is sport…

Philippe Gilbert speaking about his season so far – RTBF, Tenspeed Hero.  At least he’s honest.  Tough to say if Gilbert will have any wins this season, after all, anything can happen in cycling.

Tags: ,

Twin Peaks.

During the MashSF Twin Peaks 1 year anniversary race.

Originally on Flickr.

Tags: ,

Alessandro Ballan (BMC) took the victory in Arezzo, winning ahead of his breakaway companions – Carlos Betancur (Acqua & Sapone) finished in 2nd place with Valerio Agnoli (Liquigas-Cannondale) in 3rd.  Ballan’s last victory was the first since the Tour of Poland in 2009.

The peloton size was reduced to 114 as 46 riders in the lead group made their way over the Cronaca, 134km into the race.  14 riders attacked away from the lead group on the first of two finishing circuits, but was reeled back in as the second lap began.  Ballan launched his attack on the 2nd lap, and pulled Bentancur and Agnoli with him – Moreno Moser (Liquigas-Cannondale) and Matej Mugerli (Adria Mobil) were also present.  Moser and Mugerli sprinted away from the break with 1km remaining, but were caught before the line.

Photos from SteepHill.

Tags: ,

Theo Bos (Rabobank) took the bunch sprint victory in Istanbul, winning ahead of Andrew Fenn (Omega Pharma-QuickStep) and Stefan Van Dijk (Accent Jobs-Willems Veranda’s).

Romain Bardet (AG2R La Mondiale) was the first rider to attack from the peloton, but was reeled in by Konya-Torku Seker Spor.  Vladimir Gusev (Katusha), Matteo Trentin (Omega Pharma-Quick Step), Damien Gaudin (Europcar) and Ivan Stevic (Salcano-Arnavutkoy) placed their attack, forming the day’s break.  They held a 32 second lead after 23km of racing – they reached a maximum lead of 3:25 with 4 laps of the 12.2km circuit remaining.  Their lead was dropped to 45 seconds – 8km from the finish, Trentin tried his luck off the front of the breakaway, but was caught 2km later.  Bardet tried his luck once more, but was shut down.  A crash marred the peloton, taking down points leader, Matt Goss (GreenEdge), and numerous others down.  Ivaïlo Gabrovski (Konya Torku Seker Spor) took the GC victory, Goss was able to maintain his points jersey, Marco Bandiera (Omega Pharma-Quickstep) won the mountains classification.

Photos from SteepHill.

Tags: ,


Alison Starnes (Peanut Butter & Co Twenty12) racing last season’s stage 4, NVGP.

Originally on Podium Insight.



Luca didn’t have to instruct me to break away today.  I had the balls to do it.

Leonardo Giordani after stage 8 of the Giro d’Italia, 2011 – Cycling News.  Photo from Ciclismo Espresso.


Tags: ,

496 ZED.

Fast.  Even faster when it’s moving.

Tipped from Pedalare!Pedalare!

Tags: ,

Bradley Wiggins (Team Sky) took the final stage of the Tour de Romandie, landing the fastest time trial between Cras and Montana.  16.5km in 28:56.  Wiggins suffered from a dropped chain early in the time trial, but was able to recover.  Luis León Sánchez (Rabobank) finished 1:24 down from Wiggins, surrendering the overall win.  Andrew Talansky (Garmin-Barracuda) finished .7 seconds down from Wiggins.  Richie Porte (Team Sky) took 3rd place, 16 seconds down from his captain.  Talansky ended up taking 2nd place in the GC with Rui Costa (Movistar) in 3rd.  Costa finished in 4th place in the individual time trial, 22 seconds down from Wiggins.

Photos from SteepHill.

Tags: ,

Iljo Keisse (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) took the stage win in Izmir, successfully attacking from his breakaway, and narrowly avoiding the chasing peloton.  Marcel Kittel (Argos-Shimano) and Alessandro Petacchi (Lampre-ISD) took 2nd and 3rd, respectively.

Keisse, Andrey Zeits (Astana), Mikhail Ignatiev (Katusha), Laurent Pichon (Bretagne-Schuller), Damien Gaudin (Europcar) with teammate Jérôme Cousin, and Marek Canecky (Salcano-Arnavutkoy) formed the day’s break.  4 riders, including GC leader, Ivaïlo Gabrovski (Konya Torku Seker Spor), attempted to bridge, but were marked by the peloton.  The breakaway had a 3:16 lead at 45km – Zeits was 3:46 down in the GC and the peloton responded by bringing the lead back down to 2:30.  A crash 40km from the line took down several riders, including Daniele Colli (Team Type 1) and Marcel Kittel (Argos Shimano) – both riders made it back into the peloton.  10km to the line, the break had a gap of under a minute.  Keisse placed a solo attack 5km later.  He crashed on a tight bend and had a dropped chain, but somehow managed to hold off the chasing peloton.  Gabrovski continues to hold the GC lead ahead of  Alexandr Dyachenko (Astana) and Danail Andonov Petrov (Caja Rural).

Photos from SteepHill.

Tags: ,

« Older entries